Haryana government Bans 15-Year Old Petrol, 10-Year Old Diesel vehicles

The Haryana government took the whole air pollution issue to the next level by banning 15-year old petrol vehicles and 10-year old diesel vehicles from roads within the NCR Region.

This rule will apply to the vehicles registered in the following cities under the territorial jurisdiction of the NCR: Gurgaon, Faridabad, Sonepat, and Jhajjar. These cities put together, have over 20 lakh registered vehicles.

Krishan Lal Panwar, the state Transport Minister said, ‘I have issued the order and directed the authorities concerned for effective implementation of it, banning 10-year-old diesel and 15-year-old petrol vehicles in these four cities.’

According to the latest reports by the World Health Organisation (WHO), Delhi takes the 11th spot on the list of the world’s most polluted cities.

This is a good move to control air pollution, and what the government should really look at is phasing out old buses and commercial vehicles.